Herstory of LLNCCC

In June of 1987, Olga Arenivar, Cecilia Alvarado Kuster, Betty Cotton, Irma Alvarez and Sharon Yaap met at the Great Teachers Seminar in Santa Barbara and shared their concern about the under representation of Latinas at that event and throughout the California Community College system.

Recognizing, that the representation of Latinas in higher education was not improving, and that a Latina-sensitive staff development programs was in desperate need, and that Latina students were not being prepared for successful employment in the changing California job market, these women decided to act.

These five women decided to convene a conference to develop Latina Leadership in the California Community Colleges and to expand the number of Latinas throughout the system. Nine months later, the organizing committee had doubled in size. With the assistance of a small Fund for the Improvement of Instruction grant, the conference, Hispanic Women: The Untapped Leadership Resource was organized. Participants in this highly praised event identified issues impeding Latina leadership and proposed strategies for addressing those issues.

Past Presidents

2018 – 2020 Dr. Ana Gomez De Torre
2016 – 2018 Dolores Cornejo, Fullerton College
2014 – 2016 Geri Vargas, Modesto Junior College
2013 – 2014 Isabel Macias, San Jose Evergreen Valley College District/Senorina S. Saldivar, College of the Desert
2012 – 2013 Cynthia Lavarie, Cerritos College/Senorina Saldivar, College of the Desert/
2011 – 2012 Eva Jimenez, Shasta College
2010 – 2011 Martha Robles, Modesto Junior College
2009 – 2010 Marlene Deleon, Palomar College/Martha Robles, Modesto Junior College
2008 – 2009 Maria Ramirez, Ohlone College
2007 – 2008 Cynthia Munoz, Kern Community College District
2006 – 2007 Carmen Carrillo, Los Angeles Harbor College
2005 – 2006 Glenda Moscoso, Cuesta College
2004 – 2005 Elida Moreno, Santa Barbara City College
2003 – 2004 Elida Moreno, Santa Barbara City College
2002 – 2003 Christine Hernandez, Bakersfield College
2000 – 2002 Sally Rivera, Palo Verde College
1998 – 2000 Marge Rivas, Butte College
1997 – 1998 Victoria Lugo, Cabrillo College
1996 – 1997 Carol Justiniano, Los Angeles Community College District
1995 – 1996 Lupe Gomez, Sacramento College/Carol Justiniano, Los Angeles Community College District
1994 – 1995 Marguerite Albanez, Santa Ana College
1993 – 1994 Jacqueline Reza, DeAnza College
1992 – 1993 Martha Carreon, Rio Hondo Community College
1991 – 1992 Connie Hern├índez, Contra Costa College
1990 – 1991 Betty Cotton Rancho Santiago College
1987 – 1990 Olga Arenivar, Los Medanos College