Madrina Award

The Madrina Award of the Latina Leadership Network was established in 1992 to recognize the efforts of Latinas who have contributed their time and energy toward promoting the interest of Latinas in the California Community College system. Madrinas are individuals who demonstrate outstanding leadership skills and provide guidance and mentorship toward all Latinas. Their commitment to the goals of the organization is clearly evident by their actions. They are involved in professional organizations, support curriculum development, foster leadership training, build bridges with the community, and mentor and empower Latinas.

Who is eligible?

  • Applicant must be a Latina who is a current member of the Latina Leadership Network
  • Must not be a current Executive Board member
  • Nominations are open to students, classified staff, faculty, administrators, and trustees of the California Community Colleges
  • Submit a completed nomination form
  • Nominators & Award Reciepinets will be notified by Coming Soon!
  • Award will be presented at the 32nd Annnual LLN Conference at the Santa Ynez Valley Marriott Hotel in Buellton, CA on Saturday March 22, 2019

Congratulations to the Previous Madrina Award Recipients!


Glenda Moscoso, Cuesta College


Martha Robles, Modesto Junior College


Collen Triesch, Long Beach City College
Phyllis Arias, Long Beach City College
Rose DelGaudio, Long Beach City College


Maria Elena Ramirez, Ohlone College


Nancy Retes, Butte College


Carmen Carrillo, Los Angeles Habor College
Felicia Osnaya, Modesto College


Janet Florez, Cuesta College


Josie Gutierrez, Evergreen Valley College


Diane Gamboa, Los Angeles CCD
Adela Lopez, Fullerton College
Candelaria Owens, Mira Costa College
Connie Rodriguez, Palomar College


Estella Nañez, Modesto Junior College
Maria Vasquez, City College of San Francisco


Diane Verdugo, City College of San Francisco
Marie Rosenwasser, Cuesta College (Honorary Madrina)


Susie P. Briones, West Hills College
Sandra Castillo, Contra Costa College
Norma Hernandez, Southwestern College
Alice G. Noriega, Yosemite CCD
Maria Singleton, Cuesta College


Marge Rivas, Butte College
Martha Rodriguez, West Hills College


Leticia Cavazos, Modesto Junior College
Helen McClure, Coastline College
Martha Rodriguez, West Hills College
Helen Steinmetz, College of Alameda


Carmen Castellano, San Jose City College
Victoria Lugo, Mira Costa College
Lisa Montes, Mira Costa College
Cecilia Moralez-Hart, Sacramento City College
Enriqueta Lopez Ramos, Rancho Santiago College


Caroline Baca Frye, Rancho Santiago CCD
Carol Justiniano, Los Angeles CCD
Olivia Mercado,  State Chancellor’s Office
Gloria Negrete McLeod, Chaffey Community College
Delfina Zimmerman, Mira Costa College
Pamila Fisher, Yosemite CCD (Honorary Madrina)


Martha Carreon,  Rio Hondo Community College
Virginia Gurrola, Mayor of Porterville
Vera Martinez, Fullerton Community College


Marguerite Albanez, Santiago Canyon College
Adele Flores, Palomar College
Yolanda Porras-Holt, Butte College
Jacquelyn V. Reza, DeAnza College
Gloria Romero, Los Angeles CCD


Anita Martinez, City College of San Francisco
Ceci Medina, Cerritos College


Maria Elena Martinez, East Los Angeles College
Shirley Flores-Munoz, Cabrillo College
Enriqueta Ramos, Rancho Santiago Community College
Maria Nieto-Senour, San Diego Community College
Judith Valles, San Bernardino Community College
Vivian Blevins, Rancho Santiago Community College (Honorary Madrina)


Vivian Calderon, Los Medanos Community College
Rita Cepeda, California Community Colleges
Rosalie Eskew, San Jose City College
Connie Hernandez, Contra Costa College
Olivia Mercado, State Chancellor’s Office
Lillian Roybal-Rose, Cross-cultural Communication Consultant


Mary Castellanos, Rancho Santiago Community College
Yvonne Gallegos, California Community Colleges
Maria Sheehan, Modesto Junior College


Olga Arenivar, Los Medanos College
Virginia Hansen, Southwestern College